Google+ Followers

Thursday, 26 September 2013


 by Beatrice Onuchukwu, Awka

Chris Ngige
Imo State governor, Chief Rochas Okorocha has said that the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the November 16 Anambra gubernatorial election, Chris Ngige is not running against the candidates of the other parties but against certain powers in Abuja.
Okorocha who is the leader of the Ngige campaign team with governors Adams Oshiomhole of Edo , Rauf Aregbesola of Osun and Umaru Tanko Al-Makura of Nassarawa State as  co-leaders, said APC is however set to capture Anambra State.
The Imo State governor blamed the problems of Anambra and the crisis in political parties in the state on external influences saying Anambrarians should resist godfatherism and moneybags who he said are bent on milking the state dry.
The APC gubernatorial candidate, Chris Ngige in his speech commended the voluntary donation to his campaign fund. He said this is the first time he would be witnessing such, adding that he was encouraged by the gesture which he said is a consummation of contract between him and the electorates.
He  also expressed happiness with what Imo state governor is doing in his state assuring he would replicate similar revolution in Anambra when he becomes governor.
Highlight of the event was the spontaneous rush to voluntary donation from the supporters and members of the public.
A widow, Madam Esther Onoli who prayed over the monetary collection said that the token from the people would yield more money for the election.
In attendance at the event included  representative of governor of Osun State governor, Aderemi Odugudu, Osita Izunaso, Lai Mohammed, Uche  Onyeagocha and Mrs Amaka Enechukwu
The party inaugurated its national campaign committee made up of  one-time governorship candidate of the defunct All Nigerian People Party (ANPP) Chief George Muoghalu who is the Director-General.
Also named as members of the campaign committee are Dr. Nyerere Anyim, Barrister Sharon Ikeazor, Lai Mohamed, Donatus Onyemenam, Barrister Ma Nwankwo, Uzoma Igbonwa and Mrs Tina Akonobi.

No comments:

Post a Comment